The Town of Ashippun Planning Commission was called to order on Thursday, March 3, 2005, at 7:31 P.M. by Chairman George Monis. Members present were George Monis, Clara Birkel, Don McCollum, Robert Guenther, Sheryl Jaeger, and Tom Jordens. Absent were Norm Greeb and Secretary Tiffany Brewer. Clara Birkel will be acting secretary.

The minutes of the February 3, 2005, Planning Commission meeting were read and stand approved.

Planning Commission Chairman Information:

Public Information hearing to be held on March 15, 2005, at 7:00 P.M. at the Ashippun Town Hall on the Ashippun 2030 Comprehension Plan.

•Public Hearing to be held on March 7, 2005 at 7:00 P.M. in Juneau, WI on the petition of Jody Kehl to rezone land from A-1 to A-2 and for a conditional use permit to create a non farm residential lot. Aware of the land split approved at our January 6, 2005, meeting but unsure of the conditional use permit. Motion by Jordens, seconded by Guenther, to advise the County to table this request. Motion carried. Dave Carpenter to relay that motion to the County.

Town Chairman report:

•The Town received 15 copies of the Ashippun Comprehensive Plan which can be read at the Town Hall by any resident. For \$35.00 a written copy may be obtained; \$5.00 a disc copy or a "read only" is available on the Dodge County Planning website.

•Advised of a course presented by UW Extension re: Wisconsin's New Livestock Facility Siting Law. The closest one to our area will be held in Arlington on Thursday, April 7, 2005.

Building Inspector report:

3 new homes with attached garage and 2 miscellaneous permits.

Lyle Philips was called forward to present. Request to rezone property at W1408 and W1410 Cty. O from R1 to R2 to bring property into compliance with the Dodge County Land Use Code. A mother-in-law apartment was added above the garage approximately 2 years after the original house was built. Mr. Philips brought this property as a future retirement home (approximately 7 more years). Both units are presently being rented out and he has been advised that this is in violation to the Code. Commission felt that more information is needed regarding existing zoning in the area. Motion by Jordens, seconded by Jaeger, to table this request to obtain further information. All in favor. Motion carried.

Willard Oschman was called forward to present. Oschman is still working on the purchase of the Ashippun School property. He is presently looking to build a mix of 4 family units and 2 family duplexes (all privately owned) and has not decided what would happen to the school. He has proposed putting these on a private road instead of building a road to the Town's ordinances. The Commission has been unable to obtain a staff report from the County because there has been no request for a change in the land. Oschman needs to have this property rezoned from R1 to R3. Discussion within Commission members as well as public comments and questions were presented. There is no problem with the sewer district. Motion by Jordens to deny the rezoning request. There was no second. Motion denied. Motion by Guenther, seconded by Jordens, to deny zoning from R-1 to R-3 based on the lack of information. All in favor. Motion carried. May obtain specifics from Town Engineer Mike Laue; will look into the percentages (80% 12% 8%). Oschman will make a formal request to County to rezone and we then will be able to receive a staff report.

A 5 minute recess was called by Chairman Monis.

Dave Carpenter from Dodge County Planning was introduced. Stated that the Town of Ashippun is in a transitional stage – still has a viable agriculture base but it is changing. A public Question and Answer period was held regarding future land use, zoning, density and intensity, County standards, and the Town of Ashippun Land Division Ordinances. Thank you to Dave for coming and addressing issues.

Motion by Jordens, seconded by Jaeger, to adjourn at 9:50 P.M. All in favor. Motion carried. The next Town of Ashippun Planning Commission's meeting is on Thursday, April 7, 2005.

Respectfully submitted, Clara Birkel, Acting Secretary