The Town of Ashippun Planning Commission was called to order by Planning Commission Chairman George Monis on Thursday, June **2**, 2005, at 7:31 P.M. Members present were: Don McCollum, Norm Greeb, Tom Jordens, Chairman George Monis, Clara Birkel, and Sheryl Jaeger; absent were Bob Guenther and Secretary Tiffany Brewer.

The minutes of the May 5, 2005, Town of Ashippun Planning Commission meeting was read and stand approved.

Chairman Monis reported he had no additional correspondence to share beyond what Commission members had received; a public hearing to be held on June 6, 2005, on the petition to amend the Floodplain Overlay Zoning District provisions of the Land Use Code; and a copy of the letter sent to Tim and Jody Kehl approving their division with all qualifications. Chairman Monis pointed out that this was the first time the County had used the "right to farm" statement to be placed on the CSM - "The owner and subsequent owners of this non farm residential lot hereby agree to comply with Subsection 9.2, Right to Farm provisions of the Dodge County Land Use Code and that they will not cause unnecessary interference with adjoining farming operations producing agricultural products and using generally accepted agricultural practices, including access to active farming operations".

Town Chairman Schoenike reported:

- Tesch appeal was approved to construct a 60 x 120 machine shed within highway setback lines on MM
- The appeal by D & S Construction agent for Leah Uttech, was laid over for more information.
- Walter Wendorf has obtained an attorney to work with his splitting of land on Hy. EE.
- The Dodge County Emergency Government has received a grant to obtain weather radios. The Town of Ashippun has received 10 radios; there are 8 left; see Town Chairman Schoenike if you know of anyplace where they should be placed.

Building Inspector's Report :

- 3 permits for new homes with attached garages in May
- 3 miscellaneous permits
- Inspection will be held on the Shanklin property for partial occupancy on Wednesday, June 8, 2005, at 1:00, with Inspector Mike Sindorf, Fire Chief Deonne Eske, possibly a State Building Inspector (if Chief Eske obtains one) and Town of Ashippun Building Inspector Donald Christopherson.

Roger Kehl was called forward to present regarding a land split of 10 acres to

his daughter, Bridget, of property on Highway MM. Motion made by Jaeger, seconded by McCollum, to approve the land split and have Chairman Monis sign the Letter of Intent. Instructed them to be put on the Town's meeting agenda for next week.

Al Mantz – feasibility of purchase and land split on Dodge/Washington County Line. Chairman Monis will inform Mantz this is not feasible as does not confirm to the 500' road frontage.

Tom Jordens questioned whether we should be hiring a planner/consultant as none of the planning commission has expertise in this field and the area will be opening up with the Pabst Farms development Hwy. 67. Don McCollum recommended using the trained people that the County has before we spend money. Tom felt that the County isn't sure of where they are going either with ordinances, etc. Chairman Monis talked to Nate Olson regarding zoning and felt that it will stay with A1 and A2

Smart Growth Issues/Land Division Ordinances. Town Chairman Schoenike informed that Mike Grotta, assessor, will be coming at 6:00 P.M. on Thursday, July 14, 2005, with information regarding cluster development, various lot sizes, potential restrictions, etc. This would be a joint meeting of the Planning Commission and Town Board with the Town Board meeting to follow at 7:00 P.M. Chairman Schoenike reported that there is over 13,000 acres classified as agriculture in the Town of Ashippun which is approximately 58% of the Town.

Public Comment:

Bill Brehmer: Smart Growth is a dead issue - how much has the Town paid out for it? Motion by Jordens, seconded by Jaeger to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 8:13 P.M.

The next Town of Ashippun Planning Commission meeting will be on Thursday, July 7, 2005, at 7:30 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Clara Birkel, Acting Secretary